Colin Devlin

Every life has a soundtrack…

Colin Devlin’s “Democracy of One” is not a debut, it’s our reintroduction to an Irish songwriter who has crafted unforgettable soundscapes for over a decade.

Led by Colin Devlin and his brother Peter, The Devlins refined their cinematic rock sound via a series of internationally-acclaimed albums that generated tracks used in dozens of film and television productions ranging from HBO’s ‘Six Feet Under’ to ‘Batman Forever’ and ‘Closer’. Their 1993 debut “Drift” received a four-star review in Rolling Stone, and subsequent efforts won praise worldwide.

Now, singer Colin Devlin strikes out on his own with a warm, intimate album of personal reflections helmed by Pierre Marchand (Sarah McLachlan, Rufus Wainwright) and featuring drummer Matt Chamberlain (Tori Amos, Morrisey, Kanye West), with assists from Tom Sokolof, Fred Bouchard, Emm Gryner and Lloyd Cole.

While The Devlins’ athmospheric grooves consistently transcended both genre and era, “Democracy of One” takes Colin Devlin’s reputation for erudite simplicity to another level. Devlin’s new songs expore the language of a seasoned songwriter both lyrically and sonically: lush arrangements play out like beautifully-choreographed battles between the inner self and the world outside, as that voice – part raspy speak-singing, part unpolished tenor – mingles with the surrounding guitar, piano and strings to reveal untold emotional nuances.

If this first solo effort is indicative of Colin Devlin’s current musicial stature, there’s no question “Democracy of One” will be lasting testament to his gifts as a songwriter.

Website / Facebook / Twitter / YouTubeiTunes


Click to listen

Click to listen

Upcoming Shows